Facebook reveals bug that unblocked users

Share

"A bug mistakenly deleted some of these associations across Facebook and Messenger, which caused blocks to be lost", Facebook explained.

The beleaguered social network confirmed in a company blog post today the existence of the bug, said it's fixed now and that the vast majority of users affected - 83 percent - had only person they'd blocked become temporarily unblocked.

However, the previously blocked person could add as a friend or even contact on Messenger.

More news: The red OnePlus 6 you’ve been waiting for is finally here

"We know that the ability to block someone is important - and we'd like to apologise". The social network has admitted that more than 800,000 were hit by a bug that meant people they had blocked on either Facebook or Facebook Messenger were temporarily unblocked and able to see content that had been posted. Egan stated that the bug did not reinstate friend connections that had been severed and that those who should be blocked have been blocked once again. Also, the bug would have let these individuals re-add friends who had blocked them from their profile. Blocking also automatically unfriends them if the users were previously friends.

Egan acknowledged how serious the bug was, especially for users who blocked possibly invasive people.

Facebook chief Mark Zuckerberg earlier this year was grilled by the European Parliament and the US Congress about a massive breach of users' personal data in the Cambridge Analytica scandal. But if you sent a post to "friends of friends" or a wider audience, blocked people could see them. Personal and sensitive data of users was scraped by the analytics company which was allegedly used for Trump campaign for the U.S. presidential polls 2016, among others.

Share