WhatsApp introduces feature to block deletion of certain messages

Share

But after checking out the latest WhatsApp iOS update (2.18.31), WABetaInfo, a Twitter account that covers WhatsApp beta news, tweeted that it contained a new "Delete for everyone" limit of 1 hour, 8 minutes, and 16 seconds.

The time extension is a generous one compared to seven minutes when it was first implemented back in October.

WhatsApp has changed how long you are able to use the "delete for everyone" feature for, The Verge reported.

Giving users more time to wipe conversations could allow for more temporary conversations on the world's most popular cross-platform messaging service which doesn't really offer a secret conversation feature like some of its rivals that creates a temporary conversation that's not stored on either party's device.

Following rumors that it was about to do so, WhatsApp introduced an "unsend" feature previous year.

More news: José Mourinho: Sevilla and Brighton ties more important than Liverpool win

Having textual regret? If you sent your message via WhatsApp, you'll now have more than an hour to recall it.

With WhatsApp, the one hour removal period enables users to delete their messages from all sides of the conversation, whether that's with one person or multiple people.

Earlier, when a recipient received this particular message containing the revoke request, WhatsApp checked if the ID of the message was present in the database and if the original message was found, it directly deleted it without checking any other important information. This ensures that nobody can tamper with the feature to delete messages for everyone.

There's no word on if this quoted-text workaround will be solved by WhatsApp at some point in the future, so for now, you still have to message with some caution. It had also been exploited to let anyone, not just the sender, delete messages.

Share