RS polls: Narayan Rane to file nomination from BJP quota


The Congress on Sunday announced names of 10 candidates for the biennial Rajya Sabha elections in seven states, including Abhishek Manu Singhvi from West Bengal and senior journalist Kumar Ketkar from Maharashtra.

"Discussion was on between the Left Front and Congress regarding nominating a common candidate for the Rajya Sabha election in West Bengal". The Congress is pinning its hopes on one out of the two Rajya Sabha seats in Jharkhand.

He said that Congress has taken principal stand to not give any candidate as Money would be last day of filling nomination and scrutiny of nomination paper scheduled to be held on Mar 13.

A candidate will require a minimum of 37 first preference votes to win.

More news: Prince Harry and Meghan Markle Are Getting Their Own Wedding Beer

Accompanied by party Vice President Kirnmoy Nanda, chief spokesman Rajendra Chowdhary, Kannauj MP Dimple Yadav and Sahara India founder Subrata Roy, Jaya Bachchan filed three sets of papers at the Central Hall of the state Assembly here.

The Congress is trying to send at least three people to the upper house from poll-bound Karnataka after the terms of four members of Parliament-K.Rahman Khan (Congress) Basavaraj Patil Sedam and Ramakrishna R. (BJP) and Rajeev Chandrasekhar (independent)-ended on 2 April. The BJP wants to nurture its own leadership in the Rajbhar community. He supported the NDA regime and has served as its vice-chairman in Kerala. He had fought a Lok Sabha election from Jhunjhunu.

The Congress' support comes after BSP chief Mayawati offered a quid pro quo in Rajya Sabha elections in UP and Madhya Pradesh.

Just a day after the Rajya Sabha polls, Congress leader Sonia Gandhi will be holding a dinner on March 13 where she has invited leaders of almost 14 opposition parties.