Jairam Thakur swearing in ceremony today; PM Modi, Amit Shah to attend


Following Dhumal's defeat, Nadda appeared to be the obvious choice for chief minister but suddenly, five-time MLA from Seraj assembly constituency, Jai Ram raced to the frontline.

Thakur also said that there will be no re-employment of retired and blue-eyed (dishonest) bureaucrats in his Cabinet and that his government will not indulge in "political vendetta" but will review the hasty decision taken by the previous Congress government in last three months.

The chief minister has tried to accord a fair representation to all communities of Himachal Pradesh in the cabinet.

All the ministers took the oath in Hindi, except Bhardwaj and Gobind Thakur, who took the oath in Sanskrit.

Hailing from a humble background, Thakur was born into an agricultural family in Mandi district in 1965.

More news: Google might set up Pixel 2 retail stores in India

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Home Minister Rajnath Singh, BJP president Amit Shah, former deputy Prime Minister LK Advani and several Union ministers and chief ministers are likely to attend at the swearing-in ceremony of Jai Ram Thakur as Himachal Pradesh chief minister at the momentous Ridge Maidan on Wednesday, as per reports of Govt. officials informed. Ms Sarveen Chaudhry is the lone woman in the cabinet.

Bindal was named as the Speaker of the assembly. When the assembly elections were announced without BJP projecting a chief ministerial face, supporters of Dhumal and Union health minister J P Nadda projected them as chief ministerial candidates. The Congress won 21 seats, independents two and the Communist Party of India-Marxist one.

During the ceremony, Thakur, did not wear the trademark maroon flap cap of the BJP, like two-time Chief Minister Dhumal, who was defeated in the elections.

The new Himachal Pradesh cabinet marks a generational shift in state polity and strikes a balance between caste and regional equations. After 1998, he managed to bulldoze his Opposition in 2003, 2007 as well as 2012 - clearly indicating that Thakur enjoys a solid popularity with the people.

Three state ministers with lowest assets include Bikram Singh from Jaswan-Pragpur (Rs 74 lakh), Rajiv Saizal from Kasauli (Rs 77 lakh) and Ram Lal Markanda from Lahaul and Spiti (Rs 87 lakh), it said.