PlayerUnknown's Battlegrounds on PC Finally Hits Version 1.0 Tomorrow

Share

Chang-han Kim said, "when we first started this project and thought of the Early Access model, we never took it as a model where you start developing a game, you complete it, you ship it out and then be done with it".

Although PlayerUnknown's Battlegrounds released for PC via Steam's Early Access service back in March of this year, it seems as if the battle royale game has been in the beta program for almost an eternity. Following eight months of record-breaking growth via Steam's Early Access program, the game is seeing an official shift to a full retail title, packing both new content and improved gameplay mechanics. The servers will be down for seven hours starting at 4 p.m. PT / 7 p.m. ET / midnight GMT to make sure the transition on the backend will be smooth. Upon launch, a significant update will be pushed out to players, via Steam.

More news: Evan Longoria trade marks end of remarkable era for Rays

Ahead of the v1.0 release, developer Bluehole will be resetting the Battlegrounds leaderboards - and that is happening real soon.

In order to prepare for the update, the game, including test servers, will be offline from 2am United Kingdom for five hours leading up to the update, so don't plan on a late night PUBG binge tonight. While all of this was tested out on its test servers, now will be officially available. The new vaulting mechanic also changes map flow, while post-match killcams provide a closer insight into combat. These features have been rigorously tested by millions of players over the past several weeks on the PUBG test servers. The game closely resembles a full title in its 1.0 state, however, updates and new content are expected going forward.

Share