American Wins Chicago Marathon, First Time Since 2002


Galen Rupp celebrates after winning the men's race at the Bank of America Chicago Marathon on October 8, 2017 in Chicago.

In addition to McFadden's seventh straight Chicago Marathon win - eighth overall - in a course-record time of 1:39:15, an American won the men's marathon for the first time since 2002.

The 31-year-old from Portland, running in only his fourth marathon, clocked two hours, nine minutes and 20 seconds to take the victory after finishing second in the Boston Marathon six months ago. Rupp, who finished second in the Boston Marathon in April, is the first American male to win the race since Khalid Khannouchi in 2002.

Ethiopian Tirunesh Dibaba pushed toward a course-record pace nearly from the start to win the women's side of the Marathon in 2:18:31. Her sub-2:21 clocking is a course record for Americans. She finished third again on Sunday in 2:20:57. The last American-born runner to win the men's race was Greg Meyer in 1982.

More news: We won't Disappoint India Against Colombia: Midfielder Suresh Singh

The men split 1:05:49 through the halfway point while the women were not far back in 1:08:48. Dibaba was out in front on her own, having gapped Kosgei, while Kirui, Rupp and Ethiopian Sisay Lemma were in contention duking out who would finish where on the men's podium. Kenya's Bernard Kipyego was third. "I feel that I have come second so many times before and winning feels great", Rupp, still excited from his achievement said after the race.

Stay tuned for top Canadian results from the 2017 Chicago Marathon.

Hasay, who trains with Rupp under Alberto Salazar, was third in the Boston Marathon to give the US its best combined male-female finish since 1985.