Union Cabinet rejig, new ministers to be sworn in on Sunday


Ahead of the reshuffle of Prime Minister Narendra Modi's Cabinet, which is likely tomorrow, reports say that the 'P and N' formula is being applied for decision-making on ministers and their portfolios.

Minister of State for Skill Development Rajeev Pratap Rudy along with Union Minister Sanjeev Balyan, Uma Bharti, and Radha Mohan Singh has already resigned late on Friday evening.

NDTV said the new-look council of ministers will include BJP leaders from states where elections will be held in the next few months, like Gujarat, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Karnataka. While Jaitley has overseen the easing of a border stand-off with China, Modi can't afford to lose focus on security with his army chief warning that such encounters are likely to increase. Hectic discussions were on since the past two days regarding the Modi Cabinet reshuffle.

With the Nitish Kumar-led JD (U) also likely to join the government, its leaders RCP Singh, who is also JD (U)'s parliamentary party leader in the Rajya Sabha, and Santosh Kumar are the likely picks from the new NDA ally.

More news: The Trump Administration's Terrifying Threats to DACA, Explained

Railway Minister Suresh Prabhu, who has received a lot of flak for numerous train accidents during his tenure, is also likely to be shifted out.

The Union council of ministers now has 72 ministers-24 cabinet rank, 12 MoS (independent charge) and 36 MoS.

Former Mumbai police commissioner and Baghpat MP Satya Pal Singh, may be brought as a Union minister. Modi and Shah can play bets on ministers who give good results so that more work can be done in the remaining two years of the government. A Cabinet reshuffle has been on the cards since Manohar Parrikar resigned as defence minister to become the Chief Minister of Goa. There has been constant discussions and arguments between PM Narendra Modi, Amit Shah and RSS regarding the reshuffle. The rejig is tipped to see elevation of at least three ministers to Cabinet from their current Independent Charge - Dharmendra Pradhan, Piyush Goyal and Nirmala Sitharaman. The total number of ministers in the council can not exceed 81. Piyush Goel will replace Arun Jaitley as Finance Minister.

Faggan Singh Kulaste, Minister of State for Health and Family Welfare, has tendered his resignation.