Voting underway to elect new India president


A day before voting in the presidential election, Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Sunday said NDA's nominee Ram Nath Kovind has the support of 40 parties and expressed confidence about his victory.

Members of Parliament and Legislative assemblies in 29 states and 07 Union Territories across India on Monday are casting their votes to elect the New President - the highest constitutional post of the country. The counting of the votes will take place on July 20. Both the parties canvassed hard to get their support from various parties.

However, ruling NDA presidential nominee, Ram Nath Kovind is likely to garner much lesser compared to Kumar who is also the former Speaker of the Lok Sabha.

Congress president Sonia Gandhi rallied opposition ranks before the vote, also calling the contest a "clash of ideas and a conflict of disparate values".

With the term of President Pranab Mukherjee expiring on July 24, a special farewell will be given to him in the Parliament on July 23.

More news: Telegram owners act to curb terrorist chat after Indonesian complaint

The former governor is part of the Dalit caste, which makes up an estimated 15% of the subcontinent's population but remains marginalised.

The NCP is backing the opposition's joint candidate Meira Kumar for the election, the numbers for which are tilted in favour of the BJP-led NDA.

The victor will replace Pranab Mukherjee, a political veteran of the main opposition Congress party, who has held the post from 2012. He said the move had the approval of party patriarch Mulayam Singh Yadav. It may be mentioned that the total number of vote's share of the MLAs and MPs in Meghalaya is 31,444. They will have to mark their ballot with a specially-designed marker, the Election Commission (EC) said. When asked about his vote, the AAP leader gave a tangled response saying that he voted for the one who is all set to become the next President of the country. Voting to elect the 14th President of India begins.

"Only these pens can be used for marking the votes".