How do we elect the President of India?


Members of Parliament and legislators who will vote to elect the next President on Monday have been barred from carrying their personal pens inside the voting chamber and will have to mark their ballot with a specially-designed marker, the Election Commission (EC) said on Sunday.

"184 (34 percent) out of 543 Lok Sabha MPs, 44 (19 percent) out of 231 Rajya Sabha MPs and 1,353 (33 percent) out of 4,078 MLAs analysed from all states have declared criminal cases against themselves", the ADR said in a report.

The President is elected through an electoral college that comprises MPs and State and Union Territory MLAs. The value of one MP's vote is 708 and the value of one UP MLA vote is 208.

Though the SP, BSP, Congress and RLD members have announced their support for the opposition candidate but cross voting could be a major problem for the SP and other parties.

Among them, a total of 993 members have serious criminal cases against them.

More news: Worried Blues? Conte no closer to agreeing new Chelsea contract

Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath along with his deputy and UP BJP president Keshav Prasad Maurya, who are still Lok Sabha members along with some other MPs would cast their votes in Lucknow. The total value of the votes of 403 UP MLAs is 83,824.

The legislators have been asked to take note that no mobile phones/cameras are allowed inside the polling station. The recent political updates of the political leaders of non-NDA parties namely AIADMK, YSRCP, JD (U), BJD, TRS, INLD and IND have expressed their stand to support the candidate of NDA. The nation will get its new President on Thursday.

"Earlier also, the members had exercised their conscience during the presidential contest between Neelam Sanjiva Reddy and V V Giri", she told the Congress lawmakers. Add to it the strength of its allies and its candidate Ram Nath Kovind is close to the halfway mark.

Kovind holds a Bachelors degree in Commerce and LLB from Kanpur University.