Pair of FSU DBs Land on Thorpe Watch List


During his career at OSU, Flowers has tallied 200 tackles and led the team previous year with seven pass break-ups.

Junior safety among nation's top defensive backs entering 2017 season.

It comes as little surprise that two Florida State defensive backs find themselves on the Jim Thorpe Award preseason watch list.

The Jim Thorpe award is given to college football's best defensive back on and off the field, previously awarded to athletes such as Eric Berry, Malcolm Jenkins and future Hall of Famer Charles Woodson.

More news: Utah Jazz strike two-year deal with forward Thabo Sefolosha

Edwards, a native of Cincinnati, led all SEC defensive backs with 100 tackles. Thorpe excelled as a running back, passer and kicker on the offensive side of the ball, but also stood out as a defensive back. He also played professional baseball and won Olympic gold medals in the decathlon and pentathlon. On Friday morning, senior safety Jaleel Wadood was named to Jim Thorpe Award watch list, bringing up a total number of five Bruins on seven watch lists. The list is not final, and players who have outstanding seasons are added as the season progresses.

The Paycom Jim Thorpe Award Banquet will be held on Tuesday, Feb. 6, 2018, in Oklahoma.

Last year's victor was Adoree Jackson of USC who was considered one of the top athletes in college football and he was selected 18th overall in the 2017 NFL Draft by the Titans.

For the second time in two days, a college football national awards organization is taking note of San Jose State University senior cornerback Andre Chachere. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 23 awards now boast over over 800 recipients, dating to 1935.