DB Andre Chachere Named To Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List


Like the Bednarik Award, the Bronco Nagurski Trophy is given annually to the player who is considered the best defensively in college football.

A total of 103 defensive players made the list from all 10 Division 1 FBS conferences, including four returning players from last season.

The Rimington Trophy Committee announced Tuesday that Texas State University sophomore center Aaron Brewer was named to its 2017 Fall Watch List. He was just the fourth sophomore in UT history (joining Hub Bechtol in 1944; Russell Erxleben in 1976 and Earl Thomas in 2009) to earn first-team honors from one of the NCAA's five teams used to recognize consensus All-Americans. Congratulations to Scott Quessenberry on being named to this award watchlist and hopefully he can prove this arm chair QB wrong.

Gates, a 6-foot-6, 295-pound offensive tackle from Las Vegas, Nev., has anchored the Husker offensive line at tackle the past two seasons. There were 30 defensive backs, 29 linebackers, 25 defensive ends and 19 defensive tackles on the list.

More news: Gigi Hadid And Zayn Malik Pose For Gender Fluid Vogue Cover

Eight Husker players have combined for a nation-leading nine Outland Trophies over the years, including two-time victor Dave Rimington. The FWAA All-America Committee then takes input from the entire membership, before selecting a 26-man first team and eventually the three Outland finalists. For the third straight year, the show will air from the National Football Foundation's College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta. Penn State has never won a Nagurski Trophy, but has had five finalists, most recently Carl Nassib in 2015.

The watch list, which are selected by the Football Writers Association of America, will be trimmed to six or seven semifinalists by mid November. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the victor. Notre Dame's Ross Browner, a member of the FWAA's 1976 and 1977 All-America Teams, the 1976 Outland Trophy victor and a College Football Hall of Famer, will be honored.

Armstrong and his Jayhawk teammates will begin the 2017 season on Saturday, September 2 with a home game against Southeast Missouri State.